Beyond First Order Model Theory

Miniconference and AMS-ASL Special Session

2015 Joint Mathematics Meetings

San Antonio, TX January 9-11, 2015

Friday, January 9, 2015, 9:00AM - 5:00 PM, The University of Texas at San Antonio Downtown Campus, Frio Street Building, room FS 3.520 (map).

Miniconference schedule:

9:00-9:50 AM: Will Boney (University of Illinois at Chicago), The Γ-Ultraproduct and Torsion Modules. Abstract, slides.
10:00-10:50 AM: H. Jerome Keisler (University of Wisconsin), Randomizations of Scattered Theories. Abstract, slides.
11:00-11-50 AM: Chris Laskowski (University of Maryland), Using Iterated Ultrapowers to Build Many Atomic Models of Size א1. Abstract.
Noon-2:00 PM: Lunch break
2:00-2:50 PM: Paul Larson (Miami University), Iterated Ultrapowers, Absoluteness and Galois Types. Abstract.
3:00-3:50 PM: Maryanthe Malliaris (University of Chicago), Comparing The Complexity of Unstable Theories. Abstract.
4:00-4:50 PM: Sebastien Vasey (Carnegie Mellon University), Infinitary Stability Theory. Abstract.

AMS-ASL Special Session: January 10 and 11, 2015, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center.


John Baldwin (University of Illinois at Chicago), Will Boney (University of Illinois at Chicago), Eduardo Dueñez (The University of Texas at San Antonio), Mirna Dzamonja (University of East Anglia), Chris Eagle (University of Toronto), Cameron E. Freer (MIT), Rami Grossberg (Carnegie Mellon University), Åsa Hirvonen (University of Helsinki), H. Jerome Keisler (University of Wisconsin), Alexei Kolesnikov (Towson University), Paul Larson (Miami University), Chris Laskowski (University of Maryland), Michael Lieberman (Masaryk University), Maryanthe Malliaris (University of Chicago), Gianluca Paolini (University of Helsinki), Ioannis Souldatos (University of Detroit), Monica VanDieren (Robert Morris University), Sebastien Vasey (Carnegie Mellon University), Andrés Villaveces (Universidad Nacional de Colombia), and Pedro Zambrano (Universidad Nacional de Colombia).

Abstracts can be found on the Joint Mathematics Meetings web site.

Note: The Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the downtown campus of The University of Texas at San Antonio are within walking distance, and connected by the famous San Antonio Riverwalk.


John T. Baldwin, (University of Illinois at Chicago), Rami Grossberg (Carnegie Mellon University), Jose Iovino (The University of Texas at San Antonio).